The River Jordan

16-Jordan river-21

The River Jordan is located towards the west of Jordan. It’s a 251 km long river flowing into the Dead Sea. The Jordan River water is the second largest water resource for Israel.

16-Jordan river-18

16-Jordan river-31

16-Jordan river-34
Writings at the entrance of The Baptismal Site

The river has been mentioned in the Gospel, in spiritual music, in folk tales, poetry and in many other literary works.

16-Jordan river-19

The starting lines of the song “Will You Be There” by Michael Jackson goes like this….

Hold me
Like the River Jordan
And I will then say to thee
You are my friend

There is a religious site near the river called the Baptismal Site. I visited the place. I took off my shoes and went closer to the river till the cold,green waters of Jordan reached my knee. It’s a good place for tourists.

Lines of the song “Far Side Banks Of Jordan” by Johnny Cash, one of the most influential musicians of the 20th century

And I’ll be waiting on the far side banks of Jordan
I’ll be waiting drawing pictures in the sand
And when I see you coming I will rise up with a shout!
And come running through the shallow waters reaching for your hand.

Leave a Reply

