The Red Sea


During the olden times, sailors used to mark the places of the earth with respect to the sea colors. This is how water bodies came to be known as Red Sea, Yellow Sea, White Sea, Black Sea and so on…

The Red Sea, also known as the “Underwater Garden of Eden”, is considered by CEDAM as one of the 7 Underwater Wonders of the World!! It has a salinity which is amongst the highest of all oceans in the world at 3.6 to 3.8%!

The Sea is called ‘Red Sea’ as it appears red here and there at times due to the extensive growth of Trichodesmium erythraeum, its resident blue algae.

It is the northernmost tropical sea in the world and the water here is crystal clear. The sea is so beautiful and it attracts photographers, travelers, scientists and divers from all across the globe!

There are 25 islands in the Red Sea and this sea consists of around 200 coral types, about 1000 species of invertebrates and over 1000 species of fish!

There is another fact about Red Sea that might be of interest to you if you enjoyed the Walt Disney movie ‘Finding Nemo’. Well…the clownfish called Clown Anemonefish, the ones like Nemo is found in the Red Sea reefs hidden in the tentacles of the colorful sea anemones!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s