Adavi Ecotourism

travel collage copy

Located on the banks of River Kallar, 10 Kms away from Konni, in the Pathanamthitta district of Kerala, Adavi is a beautiful and perfect site for coracle boating. Adavi has nearly a 5 km water frontage. The boating site is located in the outskirts of deep forest area.

DSC08328

DSC08311
A view from my boat

The place opens for tourists at 8:30 am and the closing time is sometime around 6 pm. Each boat has the capacity to accommodate 5 people and the charge for a 30 minute ride is 100 rupees per person. It’s an upcoming tourist site that opened in 2014.

_DSC5693
Boating site

I visited this place an evening with my family and friends. It was past 5pm and it slightly rained. Just as I hoped, the air around me was perfect for a bowl boating!

After having payed for the pass, I had to walk a short distance through a place where several bowl boats were kept upside down and then I crossed a small wooden bridge.

Once I reached the boating site, I was given a life jacket and a guide strapped it. I removed my boots and placed it on a bamboo platform where I was assured that it would be safe. Four of my cousins and I got into a boat. And soon we set going. We enjoyed our little jokes and we took photos of our companions in the other boats as they took ours. I dipped my hand into the river now and then. I saw tree houses at places on the riverside.

When we were halfway through with the ride, the rider asked us if we want to fly. When we least expected it, he began rowing sideways and the boat started to rotate. Sounds of laughter filled with excitement rose from our boat. The rider kept changing directions. Later, we asked him to do that again. This time I leaned back on the wood and looked up into the trees and the sky and it all seemed to  move round and round just as I did and I realized that I’ve come to the right place for a tour. We went in our boats more far than I expected the rider to take us.

7_DSC5764
Other riders enjoying the boat being made to go in circles

5_DSC5740

Once back on the shore, I got my shoes on and went with my crew to the riverside, not far from the boating site, to capture photos of the place and also of us.

Adavi boating is a unique and refreshing way to enjoy nature through water rides. For anyone interested in coracle boating, this is definitely the right destination.

DSC08367
Bowl boats

DSC08366DSC08361DSC08355

DSC08346
A bowl boat waiting to be taken
DSC08331
River Kallar
DSC08294
A tree house on the river side

DSC08278DSC08354j.jpg

10 DSC08356
Way back from the boating site
DSC08250
A view from my car as rain drops blurred my view of the place as we drove away…

 

Leave a Reply

